Steering Committee


Mr. Davlin M. D. Chokazinga


Mr. Davlin M. D. Chokazinga is currently the Director-General for the Malawi Bureau of Standards. He earned his Bachelor of Science Degree (Chemistry and Mathematics) from the University of Malawi, Chancellor College in 1986. For his postgraduate qualifications he obtained his Post Graduate Diploma in Chemistry and Technology from the prestigious Curtin University of Technology, Australia in 1997 before his Master of Science – Curtin University of Technology, Australia, 1999. He is a Member of the Association of Professional Chemists and Chemical Engineers in Malawi (APCCEM) and the Southern Africa Development Community Metrology and Traceability (SADCMET).

Read More »

Mr Enwell Kadango

Vice Chairperson

Experienced and seasoned Marketer currently working as General Manager of Petroleum Importers Limited. An entrepreneurial driven person with innovative mind to take advantage of every available opportunity. Self-motivated man with high target achievement ambition while planning and implementing business strategies in line with the organization’s vision…

Read More »

Prof Kamija S. Phiri

Kamija Phiri, a professor in Clinical Epidemiology, is the Dean of the School of Public Health and Family Medicine at the University of Malawi. He is an alumni of the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine and also the Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine in the UK where he did his postgraduate studies. He is a recipient for several awards, with the most recent being the 2012 Merle A. Sandee Health Leadership award.

Read More »

Dr Cecilia Maliwichi-Nyirenda

Dr Cecilia Maliwichi-Nyirenda is the Director of College of Medicine’s Research Support Centre (RSC). As Director, she directs and supervises overall administrative operations of the college’s research activities. She is responsible for ensuring that research process implementation and research initiatives are consistent and in compliance with the college’s research strategy, and local and international guidelines, policies and practices. Before becoming Director, Dr Maliwichi-Nyirenda worked for nearly 3 years as Scientific Operations Manager (SOM) for RSC. As SOM, she was responsible for providing oversight to clinical trials, data management and information units.

Read More »

Dr Chisomo Msefula

I am a Research Scientist and Associate Professor of Microbiology at the College of Medicine, University of Malawi. My research focus has largely been on describing the molecular epidemiology of invasive non-typhoidal Salmonella in Malawi and sub-Saharan Africa. Recently the scope of work has expanded to include typhoid fever following the epidemic increase of Salmonella Typhi isolation at Queen Elizabeth Central Hospital (QECH) in Blantyre. Collective achievements have been the description of the invasive S. Typhimurium strain sequence type ST313 in sub-Saharan Africa (SSA) and recently the identification of S. Typhi haplotype H58 as the epidemic strain in SSA and Malawi….

Read More »

N Dzabala MSc Pharm

Head of Pharmacy department, College of medicine, University of Malawi. A lecturer in Pharmacology at College of Medicine, Kamuzu College of Nursing and Catholic University. I am an inspector of the Pharmacy Medicines and Poisons Board and Member of Medicines Committee (Drug safety and registration). Member of Pharmacovigilance Expert Committee in Malawi.

Currently working with the INTERNATIONAL FEDERATION OF PHARMACISTS/UNESCO programme in improving Pharmacy education and delivery.

Dr Davies Mweta

Davies Mweta is an Executive Dean for the Malawi Institute of Technology, the first of the four schools to be established at the Malawi University of Science and Technology. He joined the University in 2014 when it was opened and worked Senior Lecturer in Chemistry, Head of Basic Sciences Department and Coordinator for postgraduate studies before becoming the first Executive Dean for the Malawi Institute of Technology in January of 2016.  As an Executive Dean, Dr Mweta is the principal academic and administrative officer of the School and works under the general direction of the Deputy/ Vice-Chancellor providing leadership to Heads of Academic Departments and Research Centres under the School.

Read More »

Enock Phale

Enock Phale has over the past 22 years of experience in oral and dental public health as well as clinical dentistry. He has passionately and successfully served within all the three tiers of health care service delivery in Malawi which are primary, secondary and tertiary levels of care holding various clinical and administrative responsibilities.  Some of his credentials include a post graduate certificate in Total Quality Management for Health Facilities obtained at Fayum University in Egypt and participation on a Training of Trainers short course in Basic Project Management Skills organised by European Union Micro Projects Programme….

Read More »


Dr Gertrude CHAPOTERA is an epidemiologist and is the Head of the Department of Public Health at the University of Malawi-College of Medicine (CoM) in the School of Public Health and Family Medicine. She is a medical graduate of CoM and alumnus of Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health and the University of Liverpool. She is a co-founder of a network of women researchers in health in Malawi (WIDREM). Her research interests are in pre-pregnancy and adolescent health interventions and infectious disease epidemiology. She studies patterns of malaria in adolescent females, how gender socialization in younger adolescents influences healthy sexuality and later sexual behaviours in urban Malawi…

Read More »

Dr Medson Matchaya

Dr Medson Matchaya is a graduate of the University of Malawi-College of Medicine. He is a Chief Medical Officer in the Ministry of Health and has been the District Health Officer (DHO) for Blantyre district since 2014. As a District Health Officer, he is responsible for the management of all health services in the district which includes preventive as well as curative services, as well as public and private health facilities.

Read More »